Open letter to Minister Diane Finley

On March 11, 2013, AUNBT agreed to be one of twenty-nine signatories of the following open letter circulated by the Coalition Against the E.I. Changes. It was subsequently published in the Telegraph-Journal:

The Honorable Diane Finley
House of Commons
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0A6

Minister Finley,

Last spring, your government implemented major changes to the Employment Insurance Program. You did not consult workers, employers or communities of this province in order to understand the impacts of this reform on individuals, their family and the communities they live in before the bill was adopted.

As you are certainly aware, our province has a well-developed seasonal industry in the following sectors: construction, processing, fisheries, forestry, agriculture, education, tourism, as well as a vibrant cultural sector. The adopted changes to the Employment Insurance Program will have a disproportionate impact on workers and employers of these sectors, as well as on our economy and on our communities, especially the rural ones.

We believe the government of Canada has the duty to develop all areas of this great country, including rural communities. It must also apply more sustained efforts in order to help regions with great economic challenges and support all Canadian citizens in these difficult economic times.

Minister Finley, we are asking you to suspend the present changes to the Employment Insurance Program and start an exhaustive consultation process in order to conceive a reform which would be acceptable to everyone.


Association acadienne des artistes proessionnel.le.s du N.-B., Louise Lemieux, President; Carmen Gibbs, Executive Director
Association des bibliothécaires, des professeures et professeurs de l’Université de Moncton, Michel Cardin, President
Association francophone des aînés du N.-B., Roger Martin, President
Association francophone des municipalités du Nouveau-Brunswick, Roger Doiron, President
Association des juristes d’expression française du N.-B., Julie Emond-McCarty, President
Association of University of New Brunswick Teachers, Miriam Jones, President
Comité des 12, Claude Snow, Coordinator
Conseil diocésain de Développement et Paix du diocèse d’Edmundston, Estelle Paillard, President
Comité diocésain de solidarité et de justice sociale d’Edmundston, Father Jean-François Pelletier, Coordinator
Comité de justice sociale des Religieuses Notre-Dame-du Sacré-Cœur, Émilienne Frenette, President
Communauté des sœurs de la congrégation Notre-Dame de St-Louis, Jacqueline Boudreau, responsable
L’Équipe justice et solidarité, Gladys LeBlanc, Coordinator
Femmes acadiennes et francophones de Campbellton, Madeleine Cyr, President
Maritime Conference of the United Church, Reverend Phillip Kennedy, President
Maritime Fishermen’s Union, François Beaudin, President
Mount Allison Faculty Association, Stephen Law, President
New Brunswick Association of Social Workers, Miguel LeBlanc, Executive Director
New Brunswick Building Trades Council, Gary Ritchie, President
New Brunswick Coalition for Pay Equity, Valerie Stearns, President
New Brunswick Common Front for Social Justice, Linda McCausltin and John Gagnon, co-chairs
New Brunswick Federation of Labour, Michel Boudreau, President
New Brunswick Senior Citizens Federation, Hermance LeBlanc, President
Personnes associées à la congrégation de Notre-Dame de St-Louis, Rose-Marie Gigou, répondante
Regroupement féministe du N.-B., Sylvie Morin, President
Société de l’Acadie du Nouveau-Brunswick, Jean-Marie Nadeau, President
Société des Jeux de l’Acadie, Mélanie McGrath, President
Saint John Human Development Council, Randy Hatfeld, Executive Director
Théâtre populaire d’Acadie, Rachel Arseneau-Ferguson, President
Union of Municipalities of New Brunswick, David L. Hanson, President