Guess we’re doing our job

megaphone

UNBSJ Students Supporting AUNBT

Visit on Facebook.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Communication, Media

15 Comments on “Guess we’re doing our job”

  1. Matt
    January 12, 2014 at 6:57 pm #

    David Murrell is my hero. His commentary in the Saturday edition of the Times & Transcript restored some of my faith in the Business faculty.

    To “Not saying t”:
    For a prof to retaliate towards students who oppose their ideals would be extremely unprofessional and not be representative of the values they espouse. I understand that what I’m saying can be characterized as “living in an ideal world” but if you feel you are ever treated unfairly by your professor, there are options available. You should never be scared to death, no matter how exaggerated that may be, of your profs.

    To “L”:
    I agree.

    • No Penalizing
      January 12, 2014 at 10:28 pm #

      I’d like to throw in my 2 cents worth of personal opinion as a professor. I only represent myself in this opinion, and I care enough to share it with you.

      Matt is absolutely right. No professor in his or her right mind would penalize a student for lack of strike support. In fact, one of the reasons professors do not talk about collective bargaining with students is our belief that students have enough on their minds and should not be put in the middle of this situation, but we agree they need to stay informed. As a parent of a student who will graduate from UNB at the end of this term, I definitely do not wish to see my son either consumed with the details of this snowball or be penalized in any way. From my point of view, this won’t happen. I have faith in my colleagues and respect their professionalism.

      In the civilized nation of Canada, the Supreme Court declared collective bargaining as a Human Right (in 2007). Although strikes and lockouts are facts of life in the industrialized world, I doubt very much that any reasonable person would say he/she like strikes. They simply are stressful, costly events that we must avoid through the negotiation process. [I must say that as a negotiation trainer, a qualified mediator and arbitrator, I have always discouraged strikes and lockouts, but they remain as a last resort when our problem solving breaks down]. I also must say they are not exclusive to universities. I have witnessed many strikes in Saint John over the last two decades.

      At UNB, we have been blessed with no strikes/lockouts since 1979. I believe that both AUNBT and UNB are doing their best to continue the tradition. It is my sincere hope that they will reach an agreement, and I commend both sides on their efforts at this very stressful time.

      Sincerely,
      Mo Hamdan

    • One more thing...
      January 12, 2014 at 10:49 pm #

      Oh, one more thing Matt: AUNBT and UNB professors are supporters and believers in Academic Freedom and Free Speech (and AUNBT has always been atop the financial supporters of Academic Freedom). This implies in one aspect that professors value both giving and receiving criticism!!!
      Mo Hamdan

  2. Annoyed and Frustrated
    January 12, 2014 at 6:39 pm #

    Most students aren’t even aware of the situation. Most profs try to avoid talking about it altogether. Quite honestly I don’t support either side. One says they’re protecting a reputation, but they do so by showing a serious disregard for students. The other just cherry pick’s data at will to suit their argument. Neither side appeals to me, so I’m siding with the students-which both sides seem to be forgetting to consider. Don’t assume you have support if you’ve done nothing to earn it.

  3. L
    January 12, 2014 at 9:58 am #

    I’m a current UNB student and I wouldn’t say that you’re doing your job with less than 200 likes per page. Actually, 99% of the fellow students I speak with are incredibly angry. It’s the current student body and future tuition payers that will pay – literally and figuratively – for the demands that the union is asking for. By holding our term – and even more for nursing students – hostage, you aren’t making friends with very many students.

    • Not asking for more than what is fair
      January 12, 2014 at 11:41 pm #

      Please consider the following questions, and think of UNB faculty as skilled workers with families like everyone else you know who wants to improve their job condition. Then decide if they desrve to be treated fairly.

      1) In recent years, UNB cut the faculty complement by 48 members. Did that reduce student tuition?
      2) UNB posted on its website that the Provincial Gov. put a cap of 3% on yearly tuition increases. Will UNB increase student tuition beyond the Gov mandate?
      3) In the early 1990’s UNB was in financial deficit. To alleviate the impact of deficit (including the impact on tuition hikes), UNB faculty accepted a wage freeze for a number of years. Do students know that? Ask the administration about that.
      4) UNB faculty are the LOWEST PAID in the comparison group of 14 institutions (one could argue partly because of wage freeze in the 90’s). Isn’t it time to ask for what is fair at a time when UNB is doing so well financially?
      5) Would any UNB graduate accept a salary upon graduation that is lower than 14 other graduates with the same qualification similar jobs in similar industries?
      6) Is faculty salary the only expense that could result in tuition hikes? What about recent hiring of 84 administrators, and the promotion of many administrators to VP levels? Do these have an impact?

      • Not saying t
        January 13, 2014 at 1:43 am #

        “5) Would any UNB graduate accept a salary upon graduation that is lower than 14 other graduates with the same qualification similar jobs in similar industries?”

        It happens every day. It even happens in the same company at the same location. More often than not, two identical employees with the same job do not receive the same pay. Pay is negotiated,other than in union situations, on a person by person basis.

        As well, I with a job in Fredericton, do not demand my employer pay me what someone gets in cities several times the size.

        The whole problems this “comparable” thing, when in fact there is almost nothing in comparison, especially cost of living.

        Students have been asleep at the wheel. They were in denial a strike would even happen. I can assure you as this drags on, that won’t last. Sme of us remember bosnitch and will do as he would have.

    • Anonymous
      January 13, 2014 at 3:19 am #

      L, consider that without the strikes and struggles for higher wages now, graduates like you will not have higher wages, or the ability to fight for them, in the future.

      • Matt
        January 13, 2014 at 9:18 am #

        Consider that if there are profs who give marks away through their indifference to teach, they are flooding the market with graduates who should never have graduated. I’ve seen profs of different faculties use the same midterm tests and final exams without changing a thing. Or a prof who has said, “Don’t try and reach me on Tues & Thur, those are my days for consulting. The university only pays me to teach on MWF.” Or a prof denying me have my test deferred after the birth of my first child via unplanned C-section saying, and I quote, “Not having enough time to study is no excuse.” The union protects those lazy professors and keeps the really great professors underpaid. If you have unions creating an artificial salary floor among the 14 universities, it will create salary rises not due to market demand but due to a salary arms race.

      • Anonymous
        January 13, 2014 at 11:51 am #

        Are we getting into the Oppression Olympics here, “Matt”?
        I understand you’re angry, and that’s justified, but there are girls on campus who’ve been raped, assaulted, and harassed, and UNB has ignored them completely, and in some cases attempted to force them to withdraw entirely. On average, one UNB student dies each semester, either from alcohol poisoning or suicide. You’re not the only person who’s been wronged, but this might not be the place for this discussion.

      • Matt
        January 13, 2014 at 3:03 pm #

        I apologize if my point was vague. I did not mean to use my specific examples to garner sympathy or undervalue the hardship of others. You are correct “Anonymous”, this is not the place for such a discussion. As an aside, Matt is my real name so quotations are not necessary.
        My point was to cast light on the profs that are not deserving of such a wage increase, let alone one of the magnitude being fought for. Their presence in the classroom is not conducive to the higher education a university is supposed to offer. Without question I have encountered profs who deserve a competitive wage, as a minimum, but unfortunately they are not only struggling to increase their compensation but the ones who are undeserving of such a pay increase. Performance based compensation allows for individuals to earn what they deserve and not let the below-standard producers live off the hard work of the standard and above-standard producers.
        To switch analogies from profs to students, I have worked with students who do not carry their weight in group projects, that use old midterms to ace tests from profs who don’t change a thing, etc. These students will eventually graduate by cutting corners and be competing for the same jobs I will. When I started my degree, I thought it was going to mean something. Now I see why an undergrad is becoming more and more of a minimum requirement, like a high school diploma used to be.

      • Anon
        January 13, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

        Talking about UNB’s wrongs against students: let’s not forget the staff members actively working to prevent transgendered students from utilizing the student medical services. The UNB admin has a lot of things to answer for.

      • Bullseye!
        January 13, 2014 at 4:58 pm #

        Matt, YOU HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD! This is the raison d’etre for AUNBT’s strike: Bring faculty salaries to a comparative average, and have better working conditions and research support so that UNB can continue to attract and retain high caliber faculty complement that will at least meet expectations such as yours!!!

  4. Not saying t
    January 12, 2014 at 6:06 am #

    Considering profs hold the future grades of students in their hands, publicly denouncing the strike isn’t exactly “wise”, and making a public stand for the profs can only help the student. So why wouldn’t they make such a public stance?

    I know I’m scared to dea to speak my views to prods due to thrower they have over my future.

  5. January 11, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

    And not to leave UNBF students out, there’s a similar page supporting us here: https://www.facebook.com/UNBFstudentssupportingAUNBT